top of page
Quer_Maismehlwaffeln.png

HEARTY WAFFLES
MADE FROM CORNMEAL

PREPARATION

I'm a huge fan of salty waffles: they make a complete and light meal, and it's easy to make many at once. I recently threw a waffle party and these were everyone's favorite! If you want to be daring, place a few slices of bacon directly on the waffle maker and then pour the waffle batter on top. This is how the bacon combines with the dough.

 

1. In a large bowl, combine flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In a second bowl, whisk together the eggs, buttermilk, olive oil, melted butter, and chilli, then add the liquid to the flour mixture. Mix everything well to form a smooth batter and finally gently stir in the grated cheese.

2. Turn on the waffle maker and let it get hot. Pour a ladleful of batter onto the hot iron. Bake the waffles until they are crispy brown (approx. 5:30 minutes). If you like, put a few slices of bacon directly on the waffle iron and then pour the waffle batter over them.

3. Serve the waffles with a dollop of sour cream and a garnish of chives and spring onions.

This recipe was made using a KitchenAid Artisan Waffle Iron .

INFORMATION

For 4 pieces

INGREDIENTS

For the dough

  • 225 grams of flour

  • 175 g coarse cornmeal

  • 1½ tsp sugar

  • 1 ¼ tsp baking powder

  • 1½ tsp baking soda

  • ½ tsp salt

  • 3 eggs

  • 450 ml buttermilk

  • 100 ml olive oil

  • 75g melted butter

  • one or more dried ground chili peppers, to taste

  • 60 g cheddar cheese, grated coarsely

  • a few slices of bacon (optional)

set

  • Chives, finely chopped

  • a few tablespoons of sour cream for garnish

  • 2 spring onions, finely chopped + the green stems for garnish

bottom of page

HERZHAFTE WAFFELN AUS MAISMEHL

ZUBEREITUNG

Ich bin ein Riesenfan von salzigen Waffeln: Sie geben ein komplettes und leichtes Mahl ab und es ist einfach, viele auf einmal zuzubereiten. Kürzlich gab ich eine Waffelparty und diese hier waren bei allen der Favorit! Wenn Sie etwas wagen möchten, legen Sie ein paar Scheiben Bacon direkt auf das Waffeleisen und geben Sie dann den Waffelteig darüber. So verbindet sich der Speck mit dem Teig.

 

1. Vermischen Sie Mehl, Maismehl, Zucker, Backpulver, Natron und Salz in einer großen Schüssel. Verschlagen Sie Eier, Buttermilch, Olivenöl, zerlassene Butter und Chili in einer zweiten Schüssel und geben Sie dann die Flüssigkeit zur Mehlmischung hinzu. Vermischen Sie alles gut zu einem glatten Teig und rühren Sie zuletzt vorsichtig den geriebenen Käse darunter.

2. Schalten Sie das Waffeleisen ein und lassen Sie es heiß werden. Geben Sie eine Kelle Teig auf das heiße Eisen. Backen Sie die Waffeln bis sie knusprig braun sind (ca. 5:30 Minuten). Wenn sie möchten, legen Sie zuvor ein paar Scheiben Bacon direkt auf das Waffeleisen und geben dann erst den Waffelteig darüber.

3. Servieren Sie die Waffeln mit einem Klecks Saurer Sahne und einer Garnierung aus Schnittlauch und Frühlingszwiebeln.

Dieses Rezept wurde mit Hilfe eines KitchenAid Artisan Waffeleisen zubereitet.

INFORMATION

Für 4 Stück

ZUTATEN

Für den Teig

  • 225 g Mehl

  • 175 g grobes Maismehl

  • 1 ½ TL Zucker

  • 1 ¼ TL Backpulver

  • 1 ½ TL Natron

  • ½ TL Salz

  • 3 Eier

  • 450 ml Buttermilch

  • 100 ml Olivenöl

  • 75 g zerlassene Butter

  • eine oder mehrere getrocknete gemahlene Chilischoten, je nach Geschmack

  • 60 g Cheddarkäse, grob gerieben

  • einige Scheiben Bacon (falls gewünscht)

Garnitur

  • Schnittlauch, fein gehackt

  • einige EL Saure Sahne zum Garnieren

  • 2 Frühlingszwiebeln, fein gehackt + die grünen Stängel als Garnierung

© 2020 BARCOMI'S GMBH. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Flickr Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon